Editing and transcreation

Our certified and experienced language professionals are specialised across a number of sectors and disciplines; drawing on their expertise and extensive know-how in all aspects of language, they take immense care when working on your texts. We revise, proofread, adapt, edit, reformulate, adjust and optimise the style, perfecting your translation or text in terms of its grammar and spelling/orthography. In doing so, we ensure that the typography is appropriate to the language area – because correctly placed quotation marks and apostrophes are the icing on the cake!

Do you sometimes feel lost in translation, to coin a phrase? We have the ideas – as well as the editing and transcreation expertise.

A professional translation has been produced and correctly rendered into the target language – though complete, it lacks that certain something that helps it convey the nuances of your message or communication. Editing involves giving a text that final formal polish. We also pay attention to detail; with our self-imposed high standards of quality, we optimise the readability, rhythm and tone of a translation: a final fillip is given to advertising copy, while a dry trade article is injected with a little colour; a complex scientific or academic treatise becomes a page-turner, and a well-structured instruction manual offers clarity and instils confidence – so that, for instance, your iron produces the desired steam instead of dribbles of water. Staying with the subject of ironing for a moment: while in Beijing the size of the appliance is an important consideration due to the limitations of living space, in rural Peru battery capacity comes top of the list – it’s all down to how the advertised benefits are structured and ordered. We set priorities for you in your texts with immense sensitivity and empathy for their target audience.

This form of editing and rendering is known in the language services industry as localisation. Whatever its name, our language professionals optimise your text entirely to your specifications.

Editing – for enhanced readability:

  • Advertising texts
  • PR texts
  • Specialist articles
  • Scientific/academic treatises
  • Instruction manuals
  • Press releases
  • Online publicity
  • Websites
  • Book projects
  • Brochures, flyers
  • etc.

So that we can work to your entire satisfaction, a detailed briefing is extremely helpful. Tell us about your readership, i.e. who your text is aimed at – your target audience and target group – and what kind of writing style you prefer. Then we’ll get typing!

Could the text be a little freer? Transcreation – a portmanteau of translation and creation – offers creative, free, functional renditions and adaptations of texts aimed at specific target audiences or special markets. Pithy marketing content such as taglines/straplines or slogans have to “hit home” at first glance – they cannot simply be translated straight into another language. This is where the marketing term transcreation comes in. Apostroph Group has been offering its clients a transcreation service for over 20 years – in fact, since it was founded in 1994. The idea is that your marketing text should really resonate with your target audience and not be perceived as a mere translation.

Our expert and certified translators work into their mother tongues and know their region and its characteristics, both linguistic and cultural, like the back of their hands. Your texts are given a richly nuanced, emotional treatment that is finely attuned to the target group.

The key aspect of a transcreated text is that it does not come across as having been rendered from a different language. Effective creative translations and adaptations of advertising, marketing and other texts into other languages – transcreations, in other words – “speak to” each and every reader, whatever their linguistic community. The appropriate use of style, the right tonality, country- or region-specific codes and linguistic imagery (such as the differentiation between American English and British English – something we are well aware of), idioms, yes, even dialectal elements arouse emotions and help deliver your messages to your audiences more effectively – so you get “more bang for your bucks”: well worth looking into!

Why not let us make more of your corporate texts? You simply have to choose the linguistic style you want. After all, creatively translated, localised and well-aimed messages are particularly memorable and hit home with your targeted readership. Get your marketing messages to speak to your audience’s hearts, not just their minds.

Transcreation – for the coherent rendition of messages that hit the mark:

  • Slogans
  • Taglines/straplines
  • Headlines
  • Book titles
  • Advertisements and marketing texts of all kinds
  • Poster texts
  • TV and radio commercials
  • Social media messages (Twitter, YouTube, etc.)
  • Eye-catching graphics on websites
  • Online banners

Did you know that Apostroph is also your partner when it comes to file handling? We perform all kinds of translations using all kinds of files. You name it – EPS, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, InDesign, Visio, XML, HTML, IDML, ICML, PDF, etc. – we handle it. Marketing people, for instance, often need transcreated texts in the form of vector files. Simply forward us your source file and we’ll render it into the languages you want. You receive the definitive files in all languages – there’s nothing for you to do. Your virtual one-stop service, courtesy of your language professional.

See for yourself what editing, localisation and transcreation can do for your texts: our dedicated project managers at our four offices in Bern, Lausanne, Lucerne and Zurich are ready with professional, friendly and personalised advice to assist you with your project.

Editing und Transcreation

Unsere zertifizierten und erfahrenen Sprachprofis sind in den verschiedensten Branchen und Fachgebieten spezialisiert und bearbeiten Ihre Texte mit grösster Sorgfalt, Fachkenntnis und umfassendem Know-how in allen Belangen der Sprache. Wir redigieren, lektorieren, adaptieren, editieren, schreiben um, passen an, optimieren den Stil und vervollkommnen Ihre Übersetzung oder Ihren Text hinsichtlich Grammatik und Rechtschreibung/Orthografie. Dabei kommt auch die sprachgebietseigene Typografie nicht zu kurz – denn ein schönes Gänsefüsschen und ein richtig gesetzter Apostroph sind doch das Tüpfelchen auf dem i!

Fühlen Sie sich manchmal – wie man «in English» so schön sagt – «lost in translation»? Wir haben die Ideen und bedienen Sie auch mit Editing und Transcreation.

Die professionelle Übersetzung ist erstellt, die Inhalte sind korrekt und vollständig in die Zielsprache übertragen – und doch fehlt noch das gewisse Etwas, das Ihre Botschaft oder Aussage auch zwischen den Zeilen transportiert? Beim Editing verleihen wir einer Übersetzung den letzten formalen Schliff. Zudem optimieren wir mit unserem hohen Qualitätsanspruch und viel Liebe zum Detail die Lesefreundlichkeit, den Rhythmus und den Klang einer Übersetzung: Ein Werbetext erhält die nötige Portion Pfiff, einem eher trockenen Fachartikel verleihen wir etwas Farbe, eine komplexe wissenschaftliche Abhandlung macht Lust aufs Weiterlesen, und die gut strukturierte Gebrauchsanweisung schafft Übersicht und Handlungssicherheit im Alltag – damit zum Beispiel das Bügeleisen ordentlich Dampf macht statt traurig tropft. Und bleiben wir doch noch einen Moment lang beim Bügeleisen: Während in Peking aufgrund des beschränkten Wohnraums die Grösse des Geräts eine wichtige Rolle spielt, steht im ländlichen Peru dessen Akkuleistung an erster Stelle – alles eine Frage der Strukturierung und Ordnung der beworbenen Vorteile. Wir setzen in Ihren Texten für Sie Prioritäten, mit viel Gespür und Liebe zu den Menschen, die Sie mit Ihren Botschaften erreichen wollen.

In der Übersetzungsbranche ist diese Art von Editieren und Übertragen übrigens auch als Lokalisierung oder – wie es im Englischen heisst – als «localization» bekannt. Moderne Wortgebung «in English» hin oder her: Unsere Sprachenprofis optimieren Ihren Text ganz nach Ihren Wünschen und Bedürfnissen.

  • Editing – für «Besserleser»:
  • Werbetexte
  • PR-Texte
  • Fachartikel
  • wissenschaftliche Abhandlungen
  • Gebrauchsanweisungen
  • Medienmitteilungen
  • Internetwerbung
  • Websites
  • Buchprojekte
  • Broschüren, Flyer
  • usw.

Damit wir zu Ihrer vollen Zufriedenheit arbeiten können, ist ein genaues Briefing für uns von grossem Nutzen. Geben Sie uns an, welche Leserinnen und Leser – also welches Zielpublikum und welche Zielgruppe – Sie mit Ihrem Text erreichen möchten und welchen Schreibstil Sie bevorzugen. Und schon greifen wir für Sie in die Tasten.

Darfs ein bisschen viel freier sein? Transcreation – ein Kunstwort aus Translation und Creation – steht für kreative, freie, funktionelle Übertragungen und Adaptionen von Texten für spezifische Zielgruppen oder spezielle Märkte. Insbesondere (kurze) Werbetexte wie Claims oder Slogans müssen bei den angesprochenen Kundinnen und Kunden auf den ersten Blick «funktionieren» und können nicht einfach direkt in eine andere Sprache übersetzt werden. So wurde also für den Bereich Marketing das neue Zauberwort «Transcreation» erfunden. Apostroph Group ist hier seit der Gründung 1994 am Ball und beliefert seit über 20 Jahren Kundinnen und Kunden mit Transcreation. Denn Ihre Werbetexte sollen ja schliesslich genau bei Ihrem Zielpublikum ankommen und nicht als blosse Übersetzung erkannt werden.

Unsere ausgewiesenen und zertifizierten Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer sind Muttersprachler und kennen ihre Region und deren kulturelle Eigenheiten sowohl sprachlich als auch kulturell wie ihre Hosen- oder Handtasche. Sie übertragen Ihre Texte nuancenreich, emotional und mit viel Gespür für die Zielgruppe.

Das wichtigste Merkmal einer Transcreation: Man merkt nicht, dass der Ursprungstext in einer anderen Sprache verfasst wurde. Erfolgreiche kreative Übersetzungen und Adaptionen von Werbe-, Marketing- und anderen Texten – eben Transcreation – in andere Sprachen richten sich an jede einzelne Leserin, jeden einzelnen Leser, gleich welcher Sprachgemeinschaft. Ein passender Sprachstil, die richtige Tonalität, landes- oder regionenspezifische Codes und Sprachbilder – beispielsweise die bei uns selbstverständliche Unterscheidung zwischen American English und British English –, lokale Redewendungen, ja sogar dialektale Elemente wecken Emotionen und bringen Ihre Botschaften noch näher an Ihre Leserinnen und Leser – und holen damit das Optimum aus Ihren Werbeaufwendungen heraus: Das lohnt sich!

Lassen Sie uns also mehr machen aus Ihren Unternehmenstexten, natürlich ganz nach dem von Ihnen gewünschten Sprachstil: Denn kreativ übersetzte, lokalisierte und zielgruppenoptimierte Botschaften sind besonders einprägsam und erreichen Ihre anvisierte Leserschaft punktgenau. Sprechen Sie mit Ihren Werbebotschaften nicht nur das Hirn, sondern auch das Herz Ihrer Zielgruppe an.

Transcreation – für die stimmige Übertragung von Botschaften, die ins Schwarze treffen:

  • Slogans
  • Claims
  • Headlines
  • Buchtitel
  • Werbeanzeigen und Marketingtexte aller Art
  • Plakattexte
  • TV- und Radiospots
  • Social-Media-Botschaften (Twitter, YouTube usw.)
  • Website-«Störer»
  • Online-Banner

Wussten Sie, dass Apostroph auch Ihre Partnerin ist in Sachen Filehandling? Wir führen für Sie alle Arten von Übersetzungen in allen Arten von Dateien aus. Sei es EPS, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, InDesign, Visio, XML, HTML, IDML, ICML, PDF usw. Gerade im Fachbereich Marketing werden die transkreierten Texte oftmals in vektorisierten Dateien benötigt. Stellen Sie uns einfach Ihre Originaldatei zu, und wir erledigen für Sie den sogenannten Textwechsel in allen Sprachen. So bekommen Sie von uns fixfertige Dateien in allen Sprachen geliefert und müssen sich nicht selbst darum kümmern. Quasi alles aus einer Hand von Ihrem Sprachenprofi.

Erleben Sie selbst, was Editing, Localization und Transcreation aus Ihren Texten machen: Unsere engagierten Projektmanagerinnen und Projektmanager an unseren vier Standorten in Bern, Lausanne, Luzern und Zürich beraten Sie persönlich, kompetent und individuell bei Ihrem Projekt.